MicroWave Spectroscopy Laboratory


The Laboratory (full official name is Microwave Spectroscopy Department) was organized in 1977, with the establishment of IAP RAS. The Laboratory was formed on the base of works of the group of A.F. Krupnov in NIRFI which led to developments of submillimeter wave spectrometer with Backward Wave Oscillators (BWOs) and acoustic detection (RAD) and the phase lock-in system of submillimeter BWOs (both in 1970). Both those developments proved to be very successful and gave good perspective for many further developments of submillimeter wave spectroscopic technique and investigations of molecular spectra (see Instruments and List of publications). The department of microwave spectroscopy was the first in the new Institute to recieve the USSR State Prize in Science (1980, "For Development of Submillimeter Wave Spectroscopy with Backward Wave Oscillators"). Current activity of the Laboratory is presented on the site. A.F. Krupnov headed the Laboratory from 1977 to 2005; at the present is M.Yu.Tretyakov is Head of the Laboratory.

Recognition of our achievements
G. Herzberg, Molecular Spectroscopy: Modern Research Richard Saykally
W. Gordy, R.L. Cook, Microwave Molecular spectra Walter Gordy
Methods of Experimental Physics, V. 13, D. Williams, Ed. Jon Hougen 1975
Press about Water on the Sun Manfred Winnewisser
Journal of Molecular Spectroscopy, Cover papers John Sheridan
J. Mol. Spectrosc., Highest cited 2005/2006 papers E. Bright Wilson
J. Chem. Phys., Dec. 2009, Top 20 most downloaded articles ESA "Master" Database
Certificates of Appreciation and Reviewing from journals Jonathan Tennyson
Press about water dimer detection Jon Hougen 2012
Russian Academy of Sciences C. David Sherrill
Encyclopedia of Modern Optics HITRAN

How to find us (Travel Information) GPS: N 56° 19.407' E 44° 1.345'
Map of Nizhny Novgorod (JPG, 550Kb) Transport

   Institute of Applied Physics of the Russian Academy of Sciences
   contact webmaster